Monday, May 08, 2006

List 2: Great drinking movies

You know there are some nights where you paint the town red with the crew, you have some drinks, you have a good time... you get home... but unfortunately you are not sober, but not drunk yet either...

So what do you do?

You crack open another bottle and fire up the DVD player! However, it's got to be the right type of film... it can't require you to think... and passing out is optional...

Here is my list for the greatest late-night drinking movies (work be damned!):
10. Gladiator - solid plot, solid acting, solid action, solid all the way around. The only reason that it's not higher up is because it's more serious fare than the rest of this list.
9. The Empire Strikes Back - "Luke, I am your father." "NOOOOOOOOOOOO!" And all of that join me/rule the empire as father and son/NEVER! stuff...
8. The Simpsons - War of the Simpsons episode - not a movie, but great for the purpose anyway. The reason I like this one is because he tries to catch General Sherman, a catfish, and the last tagline as the credits roll is HI-larious.
7. Dawn of the Dead - new version, great zombie flick. Good if you have others, then you can all make stupid disaster plans: "If there were zombies, I would head to a marina" "No, they'd get you before then. I would raid a gun shop" "No that won't work either, I would run into a cave and climb to a ledge..."
6. Baseketball - really stupid movie. But great for the game of "Every time they say 'dude' take a drink."
5. Armageddon - fairly over-the-top acting, Bruce Willis doing Bruce Willis things, good all the way around. Too bad this was his last really good movie as the headliner (IMHO).
4. Rounders - drama about poker, made before poker was cool. I watched it in the theater and played Texas Hold'em non-stop. Don't know why I rank it this high, I just do...
3. Casablanca - that's right, you heard me... the old film. Go ahead and laugh, you don't know what your missing...
2. The Hunt for Red October - solid plot, good acting, and a good movie to remember the last years of the cold war. And of course, Sean Connery doing a Russian accent that sounds amazingly like he's from Scotland... which is always good to make fun of.
1. Independence Day - that's right, the Will Smith alien movie! Good un-serious fun ALL the way around, along with some fake tear-jerking moments. Defend the homeworld!

There is it!

4 Comments:

Blogger Frobisher said...

You have forgotten "Now Voyager" with Bette Davis. Hang your head in shame Nate!

Yay! im first!

*vomits*

4:12 PM  
Blogger Frobisher said...

And can you teach Beast how to do links?

4:12 PM  
Blogger BEAST said...

I CAN SO DO LINKS

Independence day is RUBBISH however Mars Attacks is fab.

Oh Frobi 'Now Voyager' do you pretend your Bette at the end when you get to the 'why ask for the moon when we have the Stars' bit
I bet you do
Dont you
Eh
Eh

4:54 PM  
Blogger NATEMARE said...

Admittedly, I've never seen Now Voyager...

Mars Attacks was good, and funnier, but when I'm drinking there is no contest!

Heya Beast, do you have the links up yet?

11:31 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home