Wednesday, May 10, 2006

Thought 1: Rants and the ranters that rant them

Okay, I confess. I rant all of the time. I rant about taxes, I rant about other drivers, I rant about service, I rant about movies/sportsI rant about rantings. It's cathartic in a way to get things off my chest, and let others know how I feel so that they can say "you are sooooo right"....

But there is a line that some rants cross. I can't tell you what that line is, but it's there. Sometimes it's obvious, sometimes it's not...

Exhibit A: Service rants
A lot of us rant about service. We don't get the meal we ordered, we don't get what we want fast enough, or we get what we wanted but the person is an angry human being. It's acceptable to complain, we all do it, it gives us validation. However, there are cases where the rant is probably not deserved. For example, someone I used to know someone quite well in the states, and that person was ranting the other day. Seems s/he had to come in early for work (like 3am), was running late, and stopped at one of the only 24 hour coffee shops I've ever heard of. Apparently, the person who was working the shift was very tired and didn't work fast enough. So the person I know throws an insult and leaves... Now. I'm not the nicest person in the world. But those graveyard shifts are horrid... and by the early morning, you are so tired from working on a clock different from everyone. I don't know if the person behind the counter was REALLY slow or just slow, but come on. Cut they man/woman some slack. Don't insult them. Rant later, but don't rant in the person's face. Not nice.

Exhibit B: Driving rants
I love these. People during rush hour just drive horrid. No one knows why... possibly it's just because everyone is trying to rush to work/home. And yet, everyone HAS to rant about the person in the car who just slid in front of them, so called "cutting them off." I GUARANTEE that the person who is ranting has done the EXACT SAME THING. So shut up and just drove to work/home in quiet!

Exhibit C: Work rants
So you don't like someone you work with. So what? We all like and don't like other people at work... that's just the nature of shoving a lot of people onto a team for a specific purpose. Do your job, and get promoted out of there...

Until later - THE NATEMARE HAS JUST STRUCK!

3 Comments:

Blogger BEAST said...

Exhibit C. I am not having that....what about the list.

I have a list ... when I become supreme ruler of the universe all the people and things on the list will be banned/shot *delete as applicable

Nate has a list too

10:05 AM  
Blogger NATEMARE said...

Yeah, yeah, I have a list. And there are some that we both know that are on that list. But it's only known by people I know well :-)

I just don't rant in general in a meeting.

10:11 AM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

Nice! Where you get this guestbook? I want the same script.. Awesome content. thankyou.
»

8:06 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home